Breakfast Treat

A favorite breakfast around here is yogurt topped with granola. This granola is super easy and really tasty —very crunchy!

granola-1.jpg

Granola

1 1/2 cups brown sugar OR (1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar)
1/2 cup water
4 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon salt (I use Kosher salt)

8 cups rolled oats (not quick or instant)
2 cup chopped nuts (I use pecans, walnuts and slivered almonds)

Preheat oven to 275 degrees F.

Combine brown sugar and water. Place in microwave (use a large microwave safe bowl –mixture will bubble) on high for 5 minutes or cook on stove top until sugar is completely dissolved. Remove from stove or microwave, add vanilla and salt.
Combine oats, nuts, and brown sugar syrup mixture. Stir until mixed. Spread the granola onto cookie sheets or a very large jelly roll pan (12 x 18) and bake 45 minutes to 1 hour or until golden and crunchy. You may add in dried fruit as it comes out of the oven. Store cooled granola in an airtight container.

Recipe adapted from Kathleen Daelemans “Crunchy Granola”

9 Responses to “Breakfast Treat”

  1. Heather Says:

    Hurray, you’re back!

  2. Monkey Giggles Says:

    Yummy..this is my favorite breakfast or snack.

  3. stacy Says:

    ..i can eat my weight in granola. I think we’ll try this tomorrow morning. :)

  4. seemownay Says:

    Nice to read you again! I should try that – sure looks yummy.

  5. Cath Says:

    What is your secret to such beautiful pictures on your blog?

  6. Robyn Says:

    Yea! You are back! I have missed your posts! Thanks for the yummy recipe! I am so going to try it soon.
    Hugs,

  7. Tiff @ Three Peas in a Pod Says:

    Looks yummy!!! Now if only I could get my kids to eat it! LOL!

  8. janet Says:

    Cindy,
    I “borrowed” your picture of Toll House Pie ( my camera is acting up) and gave you credit and linked back to here. Maybe you will get some new readers.

    Janet

  9. stacy Says:

    We made this two mornings ago and are still munching away on it. Amazingly, it’s the first granola my gal has liked. Yay!

    May I also please have your address? I’ve no plans for stalking you – but would love to mail a thank you card for the tag blankie!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

