Say Cheese!

These were my contributions to our family Easter dinner.

cheescakes.jpg

Both of these cheesecakes are fabulous. They get rave reviews every-time they are made. I will say right from the start —-they are very rich, so don’t make if your palette is weak! For both recipes I use chocolate graham crackers to make the crusts. I use semi-sweet chocolate chips for the Double-Chocolate Cheesecake. Baker’s White Chocolate Baking squares work fine for the White Chocolate cheesecake, but some good quality white chocolate makes it extra nice. Both these cheesecakes freeze well before adding the toppings.

Recipe for White Chocolate and Strawberry Cheesecake

white-chocolate-cheesecake.jpg

Recipe for Double Chocolate Cheesecake

double-chocolate-cheesecake.jpg

I top this cheesecake with a layer of chocolate ganache. When the warm ganache is poured on it gives a beautiful smooth and shiny top. It is very professional looking (hard to see in this picture since I was trying to make it look festive for Easter!)! You probably won’t need all of the ganache for the top of the cheesecake—-the rest is great with a spoon!

Heat 2/3 cup heavy cream (must be heavy whipping cream to work)

2 Tablespoons butter

2 Tablespoons sugar

Bring to a boil. Remove from heat and add 6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips. The ganache can be made in the microwave. Stir until smooth and then pour on top of cheesecake. Refrigerate cheesecake.

Yum!

14 Responses to “Say Cheese!”

  1. patty Says:

    OMG, that’s so dedecadent… recipe please.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    those are just gorgeous!

  3. Elana Says:

    Yum yum! I’m in Ireland, so I’m not sure what I can swap for your plastic easter eggs. And what *great* ideas you have!! I’m stealing a few, since we still have another week of Easter holidays and the 5 year old is going batty!

  4. Heidi K. Says:

    Wow! These look so yummy! I also love how the shaved chocolate looks like a nest with the eggs in it! Beautiful!

  5. gkgirl Says:

    mmmmmmmmm…
    these look delicious!🙂

  6. Jenny Says:

    I am lucky enough to be related to SKIP TO MY LOU — Yeah!!!! These were THE most beautiful and delicious cheesecakes I have ever had! Fabulous!! They were the hit of the meal! I honestly could have gone in a closet and eaten the entire chocolate one! Thank you, my dear sister-in-law for making the meal extra special!

  7. katie Says:

    and my invitation to dinner is in the post? awesome!

  8. I am still here « Skip To My Lou Says:

    […] painting miles of trim, painting walls, two birthday parties, homemade pumpkin cheesecake with chocolate ganache instead of the pecan praline, 4 dozen homemade rolls, 11 pounds of sweet potatoes, and the list […]

  9. CJ Says:

    Would love to have the recipe for these cheesecakes! They look DIVINE!

  10. Cindy Says:

    Click on the cheesecake titles and you will be directed to Epicurious.com for the recipes. Enjoy!!

  11. Paige Says:

    hiya
    these look very yummy
    but they would be better if there were more chocolate
    i love your cooking
    Paige

  12. Tom Walker Says:

    I love your cakes
    can you make 1 for me at some point in your life

  13. urinary track infection Says:

    these are a very sumptuous indulgence. to say the least, they make my mouth water.

  14. Hopeful Hero Says:

    good stuff

Leave a Reply

