Back to School

school-bus-2007.jpg

I can’t believe summer vacation is over. My kids headed back to school today(well two out of three ain’t bad). I sent them each with a little hand lotion or hand soap  (on sale now at Bath & Body) for their new teachers and a note that said, “If I can give you a ‘hand’ this year, please don’t hesitate to call me,” and then included my home and cell number.

bath-and-body.jpg

I just think this is a great way to start the year and open the lines of communication. This is our first year to have a man teacher. I was going to fill a work glove with candy for him, but I decided that since he has a sink in his room he would still probably appreciate some hand soap.

can-i-give-you-a-hand.jpg

15 Responses to “Back to School”

  1. Alicia A. Says:

    Cindy- you are just so good.

    I think I’ll be doing well to drop him off tomorrow without melting into a blubbering mess.

  2. Stacy Says:

    wow! way to start off the year on a friendly note. Great idea!

    By the way, have I stopped by to say I enjoyed meeting you? I really enjoyed our chats. Can’t wait for another opportunity…

  3. christy Says:

    That’s a great idea! I’ll be borrowing this one from you too. : )

  4. southerngirlmusings Says:

    That is just too cute, I am sure that the teachers will appreciate the gift and the opening of the line of communication. 🙂

  5. Kim Says:

    You are a VERY special lady!

  6. laeroport Says:

    There you go again with the gajillion great ideas. Guess who will be stopping by Bath & Body Works on the way home? Our first day got pushed back (grrr…) to Friday. I hope it really will be Friday and not Monday.

    So good to actually meet you on Sunday. Again? Soon?

  7. amy h Says:

    I can’t believe it is already back-to-school time! The gift is a good idea. We still have another month before parents-day-out starts back up…

  8. heidi Says:

    totally stealing this idea. thank you very much!

  9. Leigh Ann Says:

    It was great to meet you.

    And I’m totally stopping by B&BW today on the way to Kindergarten. LOVE it!

    Cheers! LA

  10. vespabelle Says:

    what a cool idea! School starts for us after labor day. Of course, with the state of our schools, I still don’t know who my daughter’s teacher is! nor do I have a school supply list! argh!

  11. SusieJ Says:

    That is a great idea. Awesome — and it makes the kids feel special too — every time they wash their hands they’ll think (mine would say) “my mom bought this soap” What a gift.

  12. Laurie Says:

    What a great idea and the packaging is beautiful!

  13. capello Says:

    i’m TOTALLY doing that when they hire griffin’s official teacher!

    you don’t mind my copy-catting, do you?

  14. claudine Says:

    What a lovely and thoughtful idea, Cindy! You’re so good at that — I still remember the fantastic thank you note ideas you posted for teachers appreciation week. I’ll be sure to use some of those ideas when my daughter goes to school.

  15. Jenn Says:

    I’m just finding your ideas! I’m a teacher myself and this year I really wanted to start the year off thanking my children’s teachers because I know how much work it is to start the year off. You’re ideas are AMAZING! You’re children’s teachers must have felt very loved! Thank you for all your ideas!

Leave a Reply

