Homemade Caramel Corn

This is a sweet treat for some sweet friends. 

caramel-corn.jpg

I use my friend Di’s recipe.  It is easy and so delicious!

Di’s Caramel Corn

½ Cup butter (1 stick)
1 Cup light brown sugar
¼ Cup light corn syrup
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon vanilla extract
¼ teaspoon baking soda
3 quarts (12 cups) popped corn                       

In heavy saucepan on medium to medium-high heat melt butter then add brown sugar, corn syrup and salt. Bring mixture to a boil stirring constantly.  Once mixture boils stop stirring and boil for 5 minutes (Do not stir).  Remove from heat and carefully stir in vanilla and baking soda.  Pour mixture over popped corn. Gently stir to coat popcorn.  Place popcorn into a large roaster or rimmed baking sheet and bake at 225° F for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.  Cool and enjoy!

Two batches of this recipe filled my three containers from Wal-Mart perfectly.

7 Responses to “Homemade Caramel Corn”

  1. heidi Says:

    yummy! happy holidays sweet friend!

  2. cottagecamper Says:

    it has been wonderful getting to know over this past year. Your blogs have inspired me . Merry Christmas to you!

  3. Patty Says:

    I had planned to make marshmallows but this looks too good not to make. I must go make some now. A very Merry Christmas to you and your family, especially your cute little doggie!

  4. Patty Says:

    Well, I’m a complete moron. I thought I was at a different blog (a blogger with a little dog). And, I haven’t even been nipping at the eggnog. But I’m still making the caramel corn and I still wish you a Merry Christmas!

  5. Kelly Says:

    I love your blog – you have so many great ideas! love all the holiday ideas and the teacher gifts! So cute and crafty!

  6. ChrisJ Says:

    Great, I’m going to have a go at making this next weekend. I can’t get enough homemade caramel corn!

  7. ellie Says:

    great this one was wonderful so much easier than
    the last one i tried! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

