Thank you from Hope’s Heart

dsc04642.jpg

I received the following letter from Hope’s Heart —

Dear Cindy and all ‘sewers’,

What an incredible blessing the ‘silkies’ were to all the orphans! They responded in so many delightful ways. One little guy placed his like a hat on his head; one sensitive toddler covered his teddy bear with the ‘silkie’ and ‘tucked in’ the bear for a nap: one baby looked intently at the ‘silkie’ while touching it’s softness; one little one made a ‘bed’ out of it for her bear; and many just carried their silkies around enjoying the brightness and softness of them. For many, this may have been the first gift they have ever received!

Thank you so very much for blessing hundreds of babies and children. Your efforts and the love and prayers that went into making them will be cherished by the children. All the children received one, and we left the extras at the orphanages for new children or to replace any that might get lost or torn.

Enclosed are some photos I know you will enjoy. I will email any others I receive from team members. You can see a couple photos as well on the Hope’s Heart web site. Follow the link from the homepage about the trip.

Gratefully,

Judy
Hope’s heart Orphan Foundation

dsc04802cr.jpgdsc04807.jpg
dsc04806cr.jpgdsc04811.jpg
dsc04649.jpg

Thank you all again for making this possible. You helped to bring comfort and joy to so many orphans!

11 Responses to “Thank you from Hope’s Heart”

  1. mommyzabs Says:

    Thank YOU for thinking of it and organizing it!

  2. southerngirlmusings Says:

    Thanks for sharing these photos as they are such a blessing to see and read about how the blankets blessed the children. Thank you for taking on this wonderful project.

  3. Melissa Says:

    I am so happy that these kids have something to keep them comforted. Its very important for children, especially orphans, to have something soft to cuddle with and call their own. I am happy to have been a part of something so special. Thanks for the photos.

  4. laeroport Says:

    Wow. That’s wonderful. Thanks for giving us the chance to help out. See you Sunday?

  5. Wendy Says:

    Cindy, thank you so much for posting these pictures! I just wanted to let you know that I just posted about how grateful I was for the opportunity to participate in this project.

    Thanks for letting us be a part of it.

  6. Frances Says:

    That boy in the first picture below Judy’s letter is holding one of the silkies I made. I have tears in my eyes. Thank you so much Cindy for giving us this wonderful opportunity. Rewarding?? I’m all choked up. While making it I tried to imagine the child who would receive it, thinking it would be good for a boy. To actually see him with it is very special.

  7. JailDiet Says:

    beautiful photos.

    glad to be a part of this project!

  8. bigbucketgirl Says:

    Beautiful photos.

  9. Erika Says:

    Oh man- I’m so bummed out that I didn’t know about this project sooner. I would have made you as many as I could. I love sewing squares to squares and I know how much it means to an orphaned child to have something of their very own and to have something soft to snuggle with. (my heart swells just thinking of it) please don’t hesitate to call on me for help with future projects!

  10. Laurie Says:

    Those pics are incredible. That was such an amazing thing you did. Truly amazing.

  11. Brenda Says:

    Cindy,
    My name is Brenda and I am the KAY(Kansas Association for Youth) sponsor at Royal Valley High School in Hoyt, KS. KAY is a service organization and I would like more information about the “Linus” blankets. Our group may be interested in making some of these blankets as a service project. I would appreciate any help with this matter.
    Thanks,
    Brenda

Leave a comment