Chalkboard Easter Eggs

I was totally inspired to see Martha make her own chalkboard paint. This could be the start to limitless crafts. I already loved chalkboard paint, but to have colors—wow. I think these chalkboard painted eggs would be unique place-cards for Easter dinner or just fun for kids to decorate over and over again with chalk. I used wooden eggs but you could also use blown-out real ones. They might be fragile when decorating, so I would probably fill them with plaster to make them more sturdy.

You will need:

Eggs, Acrylic or Latex Paint, Primer, Non-Sanded White Grout, 220-150 Sandpaper, Foam Paint Brushes and something to mix the paint in.

chalkboard-painted-egg-1.jpg

I first gave my eggs a coat of primer

chalkboard-painted-egg-2.jpg

I then mixed 1/4 cup of acrylic paint with 1 1/2 teaspoons of non-sanded grout. Mix well. Paint two generous coats of paint, allowing each layer to dry before adding the next. Once the two layers are dry, LIGHTLY sand the entire egg. Wipe away dust with a damp cloth. I repeated this process until I had 6 coats of paint.

chalkboard-painted-egg-3.jpg

Once the egg was completely dry I was able to draw on the egg with chalk. Most colors rubbed away easily, however a few needed a damp cloth to be removed. Plain black store bought chalkboard paint would also make for dramatic eggs.

chalkboard-painted-egg-5.jpg

I used a miniature grapevine wreath (sold in a bundle at the craft store) and a little bit of wooden green grass to display the eggs.

24 Responses to “Chalkboard Easter Eggs”

  1. Kristen Says:

    Another amazing idea. I am so impressed!

  2. Crystal Says:

    WOW This could not have come at a better time! I have been wanting some of the Pottery Barn Kids colored chalkboard buckets but, they are so expensive. Thanks!

  3. Jox Says:

    What an amazing idea! This is my forst visit to your site but I can tell I’m going to have fun looking around.

  4. Jox Says:

    What an amazing idea!
    This is my first visit to your site but I can tell I’m going to have fun looking around.

  5. daisycake Says:

    smart smart smart! I love the colors! But what really got me was the super cute little nests the eggs are sitting on! great ideas!

  6. Inspirational Easter links 4 « Says:

    […] 2 great tutorial on Skip to my Lou for Chalkboard Easter Eggs and Egg Shaped Sidewalk […]

  7. From my nest to yours « Skip To My Lou Says:

    […] This is my last minute solution for simple Easter table decorations. I purchase mini grapevine wreaths, bundled in a 6 pack, from the craft store. They are really inexpensive and can be found even cheaper this week at Hobby Lobby—-50% off! (I used the same wreaths for the chalkboard eggs.) […]

  8. Google Says:

    pottery

    pottery barn here

  9. Chalkboard Easter Eggs - Craft Ideas and Projects Says:

    […] Easter Eggs Chalkboard Easter Eggs Skip To My Lou __________________ Paula GOD BLESS & PROTECT OUR MILITARY […]

  10. meggiecat Says:

    Love these and the egg shaped chalk too!

  11. Three Finds For Your Easter Basket | GoodyBlog Says:

    […] instructions on how to do this go to Skip to My Lou. Link thanks to […]

  12. Katie Says:

    Hey, my name is Katie too!

  13. windshield repair kits Says:

    great idea. can’t wait for easter.

  14. gynecologist chandler Says:

    Just found a wonderful activity for our kid’s jamboree. Thanks for the idea.

  15. World’s Strangest | 13 Exquisite Easter Eggs Says:

    […] looking for another simple Easter egg project that your kids can enjoy, these chalkboard eggs featured on Skip to My Lou are a great option. Just cover eggs with chalkboard paint and let your little ones write and draw […]

  16. Bird Nest Favors | Skip To My Lou Says:

    […] This is my last minute solution for simple Easter table decorations. I purchase mini grapevine wreaths, bundled in a 6 pack, from the craft store. They are really inexpensive and can be found even cheaper this week at Hobby Lobby—-50% off! (I used the same wreaths for the chalkboard eggs.) […]

  17. Clear Solutions Says:

    Love the creativity, fun activities you can do from home with the kids is always such a great idea.

  18. help to lose weight Says:

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.

    Do you offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web log!

  19. male inhancements Says:

    Thank you for every other wonderful article.
    The place else may anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect means of writing?
    I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am at the look for such info.

  20. protein shakes for weight loss Says:

    We are a bunch of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your website provided us with valuable information to work on.
    You have performed a formidable task and our whole group shall be grateful to you.

  21. Minecraft Premium Says:

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to
    finding out about your web page yet again.

  22. blended food by g tube Says:

    This healthy alternative helped me to quickly add vitamins,
    necessary nutrient and fiber into my diet. Now that you’ve began to incorporate veggies into your life, attempt tto add salad.
    You must consume plenty of water, about 6-8 cups each day.

  23. Variations of Chalk Board Painted Easter Eggs Says:

    […] used a homemade recipe for chalk board paint to make the totally blue Colored Chalk Board Paint Easter Egg for […]

  24. Antonioerura Says:

    Где слон

Leave a comment