Oh Boy!

Here is our solution for Valentines for a boy that couldn’t decide whether Valentines are still “cool” to pass out. (He is in the fifth grade)

whirly-gig-4.jpg

This boy’s indecision pushed us into a last minute project last night that I am still trying to finish today.

whirly-gig-2.jpg

So if you find yourself in the same spot you can download the COOL Whirly Gig. We used card-stock, but they worked on thinner paper also.  My son finally getting into the fun decided we should punch a hole in the bottom and tie on a piece of candy (YIKES)!

whirly-gig-1.jpg

Cut on all solid lines and fold on the dotted lines.

whirly-gig-3.jpg

Fold up bottom flap and if you are not tying on candy you can fasten with a paper clip (wish I had a cool shaped one) , staple or cute heart brad.  Since the party is an hour away I think I might just hot glue that candy on the bottom!

Toss up into the air and it will twirl to the ground!  I hope you enjoy!  I am off to the Valentine’s Day party.

6 Responses to “Oh Boy!”

  1. Laurie Says:

    I love it! Very cool.

  2. Jenny Says:

    You all rate sky high with me! This is very cool! I bet everyone loved them! XO Jen

  3. Robyn Says:

    You are the best at this! Great ideas! thanks for sharing! I want to share something on my blog with you…I think it will make you smile!
    Hugs,:)
    Robyn

  4. Tab Says:

    I know where you are coming from. I also have a 5th grade boy, who thinks he’s far too cool to participate in such silly things. Until at the last minute he realized that all of the other kids in his class were, so he decided he could give it one more year. I love your valentines! Thanks for sharing too, I may just use these next year.

  5. shar Says:

    CUTE ideas – thank you!

  6. Nikki Says:

    Thanks for the awesome valentines! My son (also in grade 5…that’s how they call it in Canada) loved these. And my daughter in grade 3 did the flowers. You really saved us a lot of work. They hate giving store bought cards (yeah!) and enjoyed making these. Go handmade!

Leave a comment