Heart Pop-Up Valentine

My son wants to have some friends over to decorate some cookies for Valentine’s day. I was trying to figure out something crafty to go along with the cookie decorating so we will also decorate some cards. Here goes the very basic how to. I will leave the embellishment with glitter, stamps, stickers, ribbon and doilies to you and the boys. However, I will warn you that this little party has very little to do with crafts and decorating but rather the FOOD —they are 10. I will show you the final results later but if they look too crafty—like they really enjoyed this, I will have to block out their heads because they would not want anyone to know that they still like crafts. If they don’t turn out we will know what I suspected all along was true — it is all about the food!

You will need regular weight copy paper and card-stock to make these cards. First fold the regular weight copy paper in half.

pop-up-1.jpg

Cut out a space 2 1/2 inches over and 2 inches down from the upper right corner.

pop-up-2.jpg

Fold the left edge over as shown in the picture.

pop-up-3.jpg

Cut the top part away as shown. You might want to practice on scrap paper until you get the heart shape you are happy with.

pop-up-4.jpg

Fold the heart to the center.

pop-up-5.jpg

Cut two inches off of the long side of a piece of card-stock. Fold the larger piece in half.

pop-up-6.jpg

Place your heart card into the card-stock and glue everything but the heart shape.

pop-up-7.jpg

Decorate the front

pop-up-8.jpg

Decorate the inside. When you open the card the heart pops up.

pop-up-9.jpg

12 Responses to “Heart Pop-Up Valentine”

  1. beth Says:

    another great idea and your write-up makes it sound so easy!! very cute! thanks for sharing.

  2. Dad Says:

    I think the boys are still interested in the crafts….. I want to attend because, 1. I want to know which boy is making a valentine for which girl 2. I need to make my Valentine a valentine ( I love u Cindy) and 3. the FOOD!!!!

  3. Mary Z Says:

    Charming! I can’t wait to see what they come up with. We spent a large part of Sunday decorating and signing valentines for the class- but your are better! 🙂 MKZ

  4. Alisha Says:

    So cute! Thanks for sharing this. My two year old and I are going to make some for her daddy and grandparents! Your ideas and tutorials are so great.

  5. jennifer w. Says:

    I always wondered how to do this!

  6. Valerie Says:

    That’s very cool! Simple and all nice~

  7. Shawn Says:

    This is quite nice but is confusing to my brain-lil 🙂

  8. Kaydee Chamberlain Says:

    The directions are clear, and as you make your card, understanding finally becomes more clear. We made our with a room full of elderly women. It was a lot of fun. KD

  9. Tutorial: como fazer cartões para o dia dos namorados! Says:

    […] Fonte […]

  10. Allan Dartez Says:

    FREE BOOKS

  11. Emery Wissel Says:

    Weight Loss Guaranteed

  12. Esperanza Jimenez Says:

    Loved it!

Leave a comment