Scratch Art

We had friends over today and we made our own homemade “Scratch Art” paper. It is very simple and we can show you how. First color really hard all over your paper. You can use copy paper or cardstock. It should be waxy looking with NO white showing.

scratch-art-step-1-two-pictures.jpg scratch-art-step-1.jpg

If your friends are young you might want to draw a square on the center of the paper, not to big, and then cut it out when they are finished. This allows the edges to be colored and not destroyed.

After your paper is colored take black tempera paint(I used a washable kids paint by Plaid that I found at Wal-Mart) and mix in a drop of dish detergent. I would say maybe two tablespoons of paint with a good sized drop (like 1/4 to a scant 1/2 tsp) of regular dish detergent. Paint your entire page with the paint. Allow to dry.

scratch-art-step-two.jpg

scratch-art-step-two-finished.jpg

When the paper is completely dry (takes about an hour), start scratching away. We used toothpicks.

Here are some of our masterpieces.

elle-and-anna-budding-artists.jpg

30 Responses to “Scratch Art”

  1. partnershipmarket Says:

    Wow this is really great. Perfect for those who are child care providers. I also want to try this for my own card making. Thanks for a great pictorial.
    Partnership Market

  2. Kiddley » Blog Archive » Scratch art Says:

    […] have very good memories of creating scratch art when I was a kid. After checking out Cindy’s tutorial I will be lining up this activitiy for AJ this […]

  3. Jessica Says:

    That looks like a perfect project to try today. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Rachel Says:

    I too remember doing this as a child, though we used black crayon but I can see this being so much easier with paint. Thanks!

  5. Stephanie Says:

    I just found you through Kiddley and just love this idea! I am always looking forward to creative ways of keeping my almost five year old daughter busy! Thanks for the tutorial.

  6. parent hacks Says:

    How to make crayon scratch art

    Crayon scratch art! I used to love doing this myself as a kid — scratching through the black layer of wax to reveal neon-like colors. Mehhhhhh-mreeeeees…. Skip To My Lou’s scratch art how-to suggests using tempera paint as the top

  7. Twinkle Says:

    This is cool! I don’t have black paint, but I have other colors to do this with. Can’t wait!!

  8. Kristin Says:

    Oh, what a great project! We bought some rather expensive “scratch magic” paper that didn’t last long at all because my daughter loved it so much. This will be more fun. Thanks!

  9. Anne Margaret Says:

    I’ve avoided this with my kids because I remember using india ink as the top layer. SO very happy to know we can do this with tempera paint. Thanks! This project is on our to-do list this weekend!!

  10. boodely Says:

    I remember doing this in elementary school! It was so magical when the colors changed in a new area. Thanks for posting this.

  11. accumosaic Says:

    wow! just great.. it’s always a dream of popular artists to remain “thinking as a child”. its the most creative minset. a mindset without inhibitions..

    want to test your inhibitions? look at my site for some blood-stained sanitary napkin collage art..

  12. kikipotamus Says:

    Thank you for reminding me of this. It was one of my favourite activities 35 years ago. K

  13. c*devotchka Says:

    oh wow! wish we knew of black tempera paint back then! instead of black paint, we used black oil crayon over the coloured bits! that was laborious but the effects were excellent. we were sold.

  14. John Roberts Says:

    Great tips, will test it soon with my children 🙂

  15. leslie Says:

    great idea, i will use this with my camp fire group. thanks!

  16. Buzz buzz buzz « superblondgirl Says:

    […] had planned two crafts for today – scratch art via Kiddley and these monsters I’m too cheap to buy from Mahar Drygoods (linked from Sweet […]

  17. Value Bookshop’s Reading Notes » Scratch Art Says:

    […] simple but cool art work you could do with your children. It’s called Scratch Art. Thank you Skip To My Lou for […]

  18. jazzy j Says:

    kids are the true expressionists!

  19. mafevosacn Says:

    mafevosacn

    nice post

  20. Last Minute Christmas Ideas « That’s Swell Says:

    […] kid, by kids: Scratch Art Pages (just don’t scratch them, and give them as a gift, kids will love it! Could even try making […]

  21. paolo d'amico Says:

    vengan a que les chupe la polla y soy muy pero muy gay

  22. A Few Kid Craft Links | Life+Kids Says:

    […] Make homemade “scratch art” paper […]

  23. ARE WE GROUPMEETING? YES. NO. Says:

    […] my studio I´ve started working with  scratch-art, this kindergarden-technique where one first applies colored oil pastels on a sheet of paper, and […]

  24. pea lady Says:

    i could of done better than that

  25. Conrad Braam Says:

    That looks great, thanks for the tip using paint. Was going to try the messy way with black crayon.

  26. happyinkindonesia Says:

    Thanks for sharing, it’s really great

  27. Wordpress video training Says:

    WordPress video training…

    […]Scratch Art « Skip To My Lou[…]…

  28. free scratchcards Says:

    free scratchcards…

    […]Scratch Art « Skip To My Lou[…]…

  29. Homemade Scratch Art « Five For Families Blog Says:

    […] Scratch Art | Skip To My Lou […]

  30. Party on down: Games Says:

    […] a mystery hunt… you could make all the clues scratchie. Staying with the scratch theme, scratch art is really fun. You can’t beat a colouring competition. Pin the entries up on the wall for […]

Leave a comment