Crayon Shaving Hearts

Crayon shavings melted between wax paper and then cut into hearts make a beautiful display in windows. This is an oldie but goodie craft that we love. Here are ours made with lots of kid help! I can’t think of anything more cheerful or happy hanging from a window.

crayon-hearts-1.jpg

We made lots of crayon shavings with a pencil sharpener.

crayon-hearts-2.jpg

Place shavings on a piece of wax paper.

crayon-hearts-3.jpg

Either place another piece of wax paper on top or fold over the edge to cover all of the shavings.

crayon-hearts-4.jpg

Iron on the lowest setting for about 1 second. You can go always go longer after checking to see if the shavings have melted. Be careful to not burn the wax paper. It is a good idea to do the ironing on a piece of newspaper. Some shavings could leak out of the sides and it does leave a residue underneath the wax paper. If you are worried about your iron, just place your wax paper between two sheets of newspaper or scrap paper.

crayon-hearts-5.jpg crayon-hearts-6.jpg

I think it is easiest for kids to trace around cardboard so I took cereal boxes and cut out heart shapes to be used for patterns. This is where you get variety so let the kids draw the hearts.

crayon-hearts-7.jpg

Draw around your pattern.

crayon-hearts-8.jpg

Cut out, hole punch and tie on ribbon, thread or fishing line. Hang!

crayon-hearts-10.jpg

Martha has directions and a gorgeous display at her place.

gt076_crayheart01_l.jpg

36 Responses to “Crayon Shaving Hearts”

  1. Geo Says:

    These hearts sure add alot of color on a bleak winter day. They sway in the air from the furnace vent too! Very Beautiful, this would be fun to do with the kids, especially on a cold winter afternoon or weekend. Good Job!

  2. Julie Says:

    Those are BEAUTIFUL! I’m totally going to make them! Thanks!

  3. Mrs. Who Says:

    Oh what a great idea! I’m going to use it in my classroom next week.

  4. Becca Says:

    I had forgotten these! We have a pile of crayons perfect for these…thanks for the great idea!

  5. Michelle Says:

    Oooooh, aha! I tried these with my oldest the other day, but it didn’t work out at all… now I realize I’d been ironing on the highest setting (I usually only use my iron to press quilt blocks), never thought to turn it lower. I’ll try again, thanks!

  6. kikipotamus Says:

    YOU ROCK! These are SO beautiful. Some time this year after my house sells, I’m moving into a room in my friend’s basement. We will share a craft room. I can’t wait till it’s all set up and we can tackle many of the projects you chronicle here.

    Thank you, thank you! Your’e like Martha only warm and friendly and fun. 🙂 K

  7. Jenny Says:

    Wowee! I just love them! Once again, you amaze me! Beautiful! Lucky kids to have such a fun mom!

  8. Alicia A. Says:

    So simple to make and beautiful. We’ll be making these today! Thanks.

  9. robiewankenobie Says:

    we did those not long ago! my mother used to do them with me when i was but a young lass (eons ago). the boys and i also melted crayons in small heart shaped tins to make big multi-colored crayons. so fun!

  10. Lauri Says:

    Oh, these are gorgeous! I’ll have to have Steven stop at the store on the way home and get some wax paper! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Valentines on the Cheap « Ancora Imparo Says:

    […] Crayon Shaving Hearts – I love this idea! I remember doing projects like this when I was a kid. This would be great for any holiday really, just cut out the shape to match whatever you’re celebrating. The only thing keeping me from doing this project is I’m missing one very important tool. (whispering: we don’t have an iron) […]

  12. jennpal Says:

    HI there, Thanks for the instructions! My son Parker and I had a blast making these!

  13. Martha « .. melanops .. sounds in the mist .. Says:

    […] knutsel-blogs (Not Martha (hé, zou dat een verwijzing zijn naar…); Posie gets cozy; en Skip to my Lou), terecht gekomen op die site en er staan hele leuke dingen. Zoals (leuk voor Pasen): plantjes […]

  14. mumsee Says:

    These look really pretty.

  15. Ashiikun Says:

    We did these when I was a kid, but we kept them rectangle and used them as place-mats for the dinner table.

  16. How to #2 « Limoncello Says:

    […] How to make Crayon Shaving Hearts […]

  17. Carla Reeves Says:

    Lovely!

  18. susie Says:

    I work with the elderly, and used this as a craft one day. They loved it !!
    Thank-You !
    Susie
    Middlebury.VT

  19. monica_d Says:

    Thanks Cindy,
    What a fun, inexpensive, easy craft to do with kids. I loved this one as a kid and cant believe I forgot about it.

  20. fisherman99 Says:

    fisherman99…

    […]Crayon Shaving Hearts « Skip To My Lou[…]…

  21. chwak, cha, nepali, hot, sexy, upload, pictures, Says:

    chwak, cha, nepali, hot, sexy, upload, pictures,…

    […]Crayon Shaving Hearts « Skip To My Lou[…]…

  22. Snow, Valentines and Elusive Creativity | Walknbyfaith Says:

    […] also made a few of these little hearts last night and hope to make several more today.  You’ll notice that ours aren’t all pinks […]

  23. World View de Mama Says:

    This is great! Making these today with my son since it’s a teacher work day.

  24. Week #4: We Heart V-Tine Crafts « Simply Charming Socials Says:

    […] Melted crayon hearts, so fun for the kids to make (and great way to recycle all those broken pieces) […]

  25. Valentine's Day Tree | Off the Deep End Says:

    […] between two pieces of wax paper?  Do this and then cut out hearts for decorations.  Check out Skip To My Lou’s blog for a complete tutorial on how to do […]

  26. earn cash for doing stuff you normally do on the internet Says:

    Somebody essentially lend a hand to make significantly articles I would state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your web page
    and up to now? I amazed with the analysis you made to
    create this particular put up incredible. Great process!

  27. Funny Nerd Gifts Says:

    I like it when people get together and share ideas.

    Great site, continue the good work!

  28. a knockout post Says:

    Hi there colleagues, its impressive piece of writing regarding tutoringand
    entirely defined, keep it up all the time.

  29. Ms Connie Says:

    My Preschoolers and their Parents loved this craft project…I supplied red, pink, purple and peach tissue paper squares, small heart punched construction paper hearts and glitter for my preschoolers to add to the mix. It was a gorgeous hit!

  30. science bulletin board sets Says:

    You made some decent points there. I looked on the web to find
    out more about the issue and found most people will go along with
    your views on this web site.

  31. POP countertop displays Says:

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I in finding this matter to be actually one thing that I think I’d never understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and very broad for me. I am looking
    forward for your next publish, I’ll try to get the cling of it!

  32. Kristine Says:

    First of all I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick
    question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to know how you
    center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting
    my thoughts out. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first
    10 to 15 minutes are lost just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or tips? Thank you!

  33. Dwayne Says:

    Hi my family member! I wish to say that this post is amazing, nice written and include approximately all significant infos.
    I would like to peer extra posts like this .

  34. Berniece Says:

    Hello, after reading this remarkable post i am too happy
    to share my knowledge here with mates.

  35. Reynaldo Says:

    Piece of writing writing is also a excitement,
    if you be acquainted with then you can write or else it is difficult to
    write.

  36. Ola Fefer Says:

    Crayon Shaving Hearts | Skip To My Lou

    […]Enshroud Thoughts You might be warded towards the psychological prying of others.[…]

Leave a comment