Valentines

We made these sour cream container look alikes last year for Valentine’s Day. This simple design allows for lots of creativity. We used white cardstock that we stamped with hearts, but colored papers, paper with your writing and drawings or other decorative papers or materials (wallpaper etc.) could be used.

We started with half of a sheet of cardstock. We then stamped hearts on the paper.

container-1.jpg

Put double sided tape down the short side of the paper. Then roll the paper up to make a tube.

container-2.jpg

container-3.jpg

Gently squeeze the tube on one end. Place a piece of double sided tape at the end on the inside so when you squeeze the end all the way shut it will stick. Squeeze the end shut. Take a paper crimper (This thing is a HUGE hit with my kids—well worth the bucks!) and crimp the end closed. We crimp enough into the container that we have 4 or 5 crimping lines.

container-4.jpg

container-5.jpg

Fill the container with treats and or some trinkets. Now gently squeeze the other end in the OPPOSITE direction. Put tape along the inside at the end and then crimp shut. The crimping really makes it look just like a sour cream container.

container-6.jpg

container-7.jpg

15 Responses to “Valentines”

  1. EH Says:

    i love this idea…for so many things! i always wondered–other than corrugating paper–what you could use the crimping for–

  2. Aunt Jenny Says:

    Amazing! What a good mom! I want to come over for “sick day” next time and make lollipops and use the crimper! Fun!

  3. Cath Says:

    I am waiting for my crimper to arrive in the mail and then we will be in business to make our Valentines for the year! I love this idea!

  4. katie Says:

    this is awesome – I need a crimper! what should ii look for when I buy one????

  5. Barb Says:

    This is really neat! I’m anxious to try it out .
    Thanks for the fun idea!

  6. amandajean Says:

    wow, what a great idea!!! thanks for sharing.

  7. islaygirl Says:

    hi, i’m here via katie, and really love this idea. i can’t wait to try it out with my four-year-old! maybe something for easter …

  8. Erika Says:

    Those are awesome! They really do look like the sour cream that you get in school.

  9. Granna on the Go Says:

    Thank you for the instructions…I had read and heard about them but wasn’t sure how to go about it. Very clear instructions…I am hoping to make some treats for Halloween. My grandchildren might enjoy doing for their class. I may do some for friends in a quilt group. Could do an autumn/thanksgiving theme place cards, too. Listen to me, I have so many ideas and only hope to complete each one. Granna

  10. DebbieJ Says:

    What an awesome idea! I think I’ll make some more bath salts for Christmas gifts this year and put in this type container. It should hold enough for one tub full. My imagination is going wild with things to put in there. Candies, pastry, You name it! Thank you so much for sharing this with us. Debbie J ~ East Texas Crafter

  11. Iris from Germany Says:

    I´ve been looking everywhere for the instructions for this versatile idea,
    thanks for sharing it ! I will have a go as soon as I´ve finished writing these lines…thanks again !!!!
    Iris

  12. Krista Says:

    I love all of your wonderful Valentine ideas! Thanks for posting them.
    I shared them on my Facebook page: facebook.com/homemadegiftideas.

  13. Terri Says:

    Great idea!! After several pages of Google images for homemade Valentines, I found this and LOVE it. I have a crimper I never know what to do with now, I can’t wait for the kiddos to come home and get started! Thanks for the really clever idea.

  14. essays Says:

    essays…

    […]Valentines « Skip To My Lou[…]…

  15. Clara Says:

    Neat! I love the idea of using double sided tape and crimping the ends to close it!

Leave a comment