Marbleizing Paper

To make this fun and easy marbleized paper you will need: 1/2 tsp alum (helps paint adhere to the paper), 2 cups liquid starch, liquid acrylic paints, a long wooden skewer , a 9 X 13 pan and white copy paper cut to fit the inside your pan. You can change up the size of the pan, just keep the proportions of starch and alum the same. The starch should be 1 to 2 inches deep in your pan.

marbelizing-paper-006-1.jpg

Pour 2 cups of liquid starch in the pan then add 1/2 tsp alum stirring until mixed.

marbelizing-paper-002-2.jpg

Gently drop acrylic paint on the surface of the starch. Some paint will sink to the bottom- do not worry. Try not to use too much paint. For best results choose light and dark colors that go together. It will take some experimenting to know how much paint works best for you. Brands of acrylic paint differ in consistency. If after several tries you have trouble with the paint not staying on the surface, try adding a drop of water to your paint.

marbelizing-paper-001-3.jpg

Take the wooden skewer and drag the paint through the starch. Continue dragging the skewer through the paint until you get a design you like. You might try other tools like a fork, feather or comb besides the skewer. Really the fun of this activity is watching the paint swirl around making different designs. There is no right and wrong. Enjoy the experimenting. We were mesmerized —- we hope you will be also!

marbelizing-paper-003-5.jpg

Lay your piece of paper on top of the starch. Allow it to sit for a couple of seconds.

marbelizing-paper-005-4.jpg

Lift the paper out of the pan and allow the starch to drip off the paper

marbelizing-paper-004-6.jpg

Rinse the paper under running water removing any extra starch. This does not change the intensity of the colors (the below photo is a different piece of paper paper from the above photo)

marbelizing-paper-010-7.jpg

After the paper has been rinsed, lay it out to dry. It will take about two hours for the paper to dry. When the paper is completely dry, iron on medium setting until the sheets of paper are flat.

You may find that you can print two sheets of paper before adding more paint to the starch. In the photo below, the bottom piece of paper was made first. We then used our skewer again making a different design and put on another sheet of paper.

marbelizing-paper-007-8.jpg

In the photo below we had too much paint on our starch so we went ahead and made a print then changed up the design and then made another. If you feel that you have made a lot of prints and your starch is too full of paint, just pour it out and start again.

marbelizing-paper-001-9.jpg

The possibilities of what to do with your paper are endless—- cover pencils, a book or a box, make note-cards, book marks or a picture frame etc.

Have fun!

Tags: , , , , , ,

44 Responses to “Marbleizing Paper”

  1. ladybean73 Says:

    Oh Thank you for posting this!! This sounds like another craft I might enjoy and it’s something the kids will likely enjoy too. Oh boy.. adding more crafts to my belt. Heee..

  2. Barbara Says:

    Such a great project! Thank you for sharing it.

  3. seemownay Says:

    Thanks for sharing this great tutorial. I always wondered how to do it and this is another one on my growing list of things I want to try …

  4. Angie Says:

    OH How Fantastic!!!!! I literally shrieked with delight when I first saw this! I can’t wait to try it. Thanks 🙂

  5. Liz Says:

    Very cool! I’ve always wondered how to do this! I just finished making your hooded towel. When I get my other two done I’ll post pics. Thanks for the tutorials!

  6. Monkey Giggles Says:

    that was fun!!! Thank you for sharing

  7. Hannah Says:

    I remember doing this as a kid, have to try again. i wonder how handmade paper would go? Have you tried that?

  8. stacy Says:

    ..you’re so stinking cool!
    p.s. I used your end of the year “scoops of fun” teacher gift idea! 🙂 thanks!

  9. Kim Says:

    Denise Fleming has an alternative process with food coloring and shaving cream. 🙂 (Here’s the link: http://www.denisefleming.com/pages/activitiesb/marbleizedpaper1.htm)

  10. ~*~ Patty Says:

    Thank you for sharing this process. You got wonderful results and make it look easy! I bet it’s hard to stop once you start making papers!!!

  11. travelnooks Says:

    That looks great! I might try my hand at it.

  12. ellen harper Says:

    Ok this is super mega radical COOL. Way much simpler than the traditional method.

  13. upstatelisa Says:

    Oh so cool! I have always wanted to know how to do this! I have a 9 year old who I know will want to try this with me sometime!

  14. Ellen Says:

    Oh, thanks for this. I haven’t marbled in years. I think my children will love it. Now that the weather is warmer, we could do this outside (less mess).

  15. Folding Trees » Marbelizing paper Says:

    […] has a great post about marbelizing paper as a fun kids project on her blog Skip to my Lou. SHARE THIS POSTClose this WindowBookmark and […]

  16. Sadie Hanel Says:

    I found your web site when I was browsing for something entirely different, but this post was on the first page of Bing your blog must be incredibly popular! Continue the good work!

  17. Sue O' Brian Says:

    Nice
    ………………….

    My little sis Martha likes it. And my big sis, Andrea likes it too.

  18. AshleyJane Says:

    You can also do this with shaving cream and water color paints : )

  19. Clara Says:

    Best results I have seen for this type of project! I am going to do this with my 3rd grade art class soon! Thanks!

  20. Web Design in West Palm Beach Says:

    Web Design in West Palm Beach…

    […]Marbleizing Paper « Skip To My Lou[…]…

  21. duct tape crafts Says:

    duct tape crafts…

    […]Marbleizing Paper « Skip To My Lou[…]…

  22. utorrent mac Says:

    utorrent mac…

    […]Marbleizing Paper « Skip To My Lou[…]…

  23. Paper Crafts | Pearltrees Says:

    […] Tags: crafts , how to marbleize paper , kid's crafts and activities , kids crafts , marbelized paper , marbleized paper , marbleizing paper Be the first to like this post. Like this: Have fun! The possibilities of what to do with your paper are endless—- cover pencils, a book or a box, make note-cards, book marks or a picture frame etc. Marbleizing Paper « Skip To My Lou […]

  24. cars Says:

    It should be fun to buy a new car! Driving a new car is
    such a great experience, and purchasing the car should be fun as well.
    A lot of people would rather skip the whole purchasing process.
    Keep the stress to a minimum using these tips.

  25. crafts Says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I do think that you ought to write more about this subject matter,
    it might not be a taboo subject but typically people do not discuss these
    subjects. To the next! Kind regards!!

  26. Google Adwords Management Birmingham Says:

    Google Adwords Management Birmingham

    Marbleizing Paper | Skip To My Lou

  27. Minna Says:

    WOW just what I was looking for. Camee here by searchin forr
    drive johnson specializes

  28. notfall-schlosser Says:

    notfall-schlosser

    Marbleizing Paper | Skip To My Lou

  29. little eye makeup Says:

    It’s awesome for me to have a web site, which is valuable in support of my know-how.
    thanks admin

  30. visit Says:

    It’s important that you love what you to the point that you will not
    get enough of it. Opting for tutoring via Internet will ensure that your child will save time in getting ready for tutoring classes,
    reaching to the class, and related hassles. Read Bad Blogs
    – Go to the Internet and search anything you’d like, then add the world blog
    to your search.

  31. Internet marketing is a modern form of marketing. Internet world domination and therefore become a popular domain. Modern marketing is based on the use of information technology that you build the business. Says:

    excellent issues altogether, you just gained a new reader.
    What may you recommend about your submit that
    you made some days ago? Any certain?

  32. auto tweet software Says:

    Marvelous, what a blg iit is! Thiss websitfe prrsents useful information too us, keep
    it up.

  33. real exam Says:

    Can you tewll us more about this? I’d care
    to find oout more details.

  34. Louise Says:

    Can I do this process on plaster of paris

  35. Carmelia Mundhenk Says:

    Excellent article, great to read unique content we can all forward between all users. I do as create tutorials and videos for others, if you have Instagram I would be glad to have you as fan : https://www.instagram.com/earthbydrones Have a great day! Earth By Drones Com Jose

  36. Bonduel Says:

    GPA 3.75 – 4.0: University College Center for Advising and Counseling – Englebert Harold, Dryke Dimitri, Mustafa Arnoldo, Christopher Boseak, Weber Yancey, Mohammad Townie, Brian Heywood, Sauncho Ewan, Wallace Weslie, Kurt Bronson, Osborn Coleman, Lyndon Brady, Fox Fredrick, Raymund Jean, Udale Vaughn, Wiatt Mohamad,

  37. mmcc doctor Maryland Says:

    Ask him or her:Are you worried what your friends will think if you undertake or don’t do your homework.

    Managers (particularly human resource manager) contain the duty to
    watch stress levels inside the workforce, identify the factors that induce stress, and take firm measures to reduce it.

    (make an attempt to get your eyebrows right up for you hair
    line)2)Slightly open your mouth 3)Pull the corners of your mouth back
    towards your ears (If your unsure pull it well using your fingers so that you determine
    what it seems like then try again without your fingers).

  38. chronograph Says:

    Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’dlike to follow you if that
    would be okay. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog
    and look forward to new posts.

  39. point acupuncture fertilite Says:

    Thanks , I’ve just been searching for information approximately this topic for ages and yours is the greatest
    I’ve found out till now. However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to
    the source?

  40. Ca007.Net Says:

    Ca007.Net

    Marbleizing Paper | Skip To My Lou

  41. zene za vezu Says:

    Ive bookmarked your website, and Im including your RSS feeds toward my Google account.

  42. Žene za brak sa slikom Says:

    Mali oglasnik split posao ponuda

  43. 123 Business Directory Says:

    Hey, great post as always and very informative. I am already looking forward to the next one!

  44. Birmingham business directory Says:

    Birmingham business directory

    Marbleizing Paper | Skip To My Lou

Leave a comment