Hooded Towel Tutorial

I made this hooded towel for Christmas for my little girl. It is a really simple and quick project made from 1 bath towel and 1/2 of a hand towel.

Cut your hand towel in half

hooded-towel-1.jpg

Fold over the finished edge of the hand towel. I folded down just past the ribbing. You want to have about 10 1/2 inches in finished length. Stitch down the edge.

hooded-towel-2.jpg

I stitched a little ric -rac to the front.

hooded-towel-3.jpg

Fold hand towel in half right sides together, find the middle of the side and mark with a pin.

hooded-towel-5.jpg

Bring the folded edge into the middle. You may have to remove the pin while you adjust the towel.

hooded-towel-6.jpg

Stitch across the bottom edge making sure you catch all layers of the pleat. When finished stitching, zig zag or overcast your seam to prevent raveling. When you are finished the right side will look like this.

hooded-towel-7.jpg

Fold the bath towel in half, right sides together.

hooded-towel-8.jpg

Measure over 3-4 inches from the fold and 3-4 inches down from the top and stitch.

hooded-towel-9.jpg

Open bath towel flat and open and flatten the tuck. You can baste across the tuck if you want.

hooded-towel-10.jpg

The front of the bath towel will look like this when finished

hooded-towel-11.jpg

With right sides together, line up center of bath towel and center of hood.

hooded-towel-12.jpg

Pin hood to bath towel. You will stitch from the side edge of the hood across to the other side. Be sure to back stitch when starting and stopping to reinforce the seam. I stitched close to the edge along the inside of the towel’s finished edge. (I have not stitched in the following photo)

hooded-towel-13.jpg

The finished towel looks like this

hooded-towel-14.jpg

hooded-towel-15.jpg

Now that it is finished I am wishing I had added another row of ric- rac or that I could find the darling pink towel with rainbow ribbing I originally purchased for this project!

28 Responses to “Hooded Towel Tutorial”

  1. Laurie Says:

    This makes such a great gift. Thanks for the tutorial.

  2. calegar Says:

    What a wonderful Tutorial! I’m going to try it for my son!

  3. jennbenn Says:

    Great idea! Wonderful tut, I am going to try it as well. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  4. Nikki Says:

    This is great! The easiest way I’ve seen this done by far. I have plenty of little nieces and nephews that will love these.

  5. capello Says:

    cute!

  6. Mslil65 Says:

    Woohoo, you’re back! I knew you’d have some awesome gift ideas! Thank you!

  7. vespabelle Says:

    I know what my daughter’s getting for Christmas!

  8. Greta Adams Says:

    love your hooded towels….i make my a bit different…i use wash cloths.

  9. Stephanie Says:

    Very cute! Thanks for the tute!

  10. melissa Says:

    i have wanted and wanted this EXACT tutorial. too lazy (or busy, maybe) to try it on my own…so thanks! my 5 year old girl still loves those hooded baby towels, but they are all so small on her! i told her i’d make her some new ones…now i know how! thanks!

  11. seemownay Says:

    Thanks for visiting my site – you almost made me cry. Seems like you miss Germany a lot, all of the things you mentioned I love too. To cheer you up you should probably think about the old saying that the grass is always greener on the other side.
    Your ideas are great, I bookmarked your crayon roll, that’s probably how you came to visit me?! Thanks for the tutorial, I’ll send you a picture whenever I get to do one.

  12. Amber Fry Says:

    Thanks for the tutorial. I always loved receiving these as gifts for my kids. Now I can make them for others.

  13. Lucy Says:

    I could kiss you!! I have looked all over the place for this tutorial and don’t know how I landed here. Thank you so much for posting this particular tutorial. It is just what I have been trying to do and needed to double check some details. You are fabulous!!

  14. Make A Hooded Towel « Aggregating the fascinating Says:

    […] 19, 2007 · No Comments Skip To My Lou offers instructions and step-by-step photos for making a hooded towel from a regular towel and half of a hand […]

  15. Tracey Says:

    This is adorable. I received a handmade and personalized hooded towel for my son when he was born. He’s six now and still uses it! One of our most treasured gifts. 🙂

  16. mrsowr Says:

    I love this and will be back after Christmas to follow your tutorial.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Melissa

  17. Beth Says:

    I just made one of these for my neice and now that I’m done I wish I would have gotten more towels to make one for my son and nephew too!!
    Great tutorial and I love the added pleat and hood ‘gusset’.

  18. bath girl Says:

    bath girl

    cool site

  19. Chapina Says:

    Thank you for the tutorial! I just made one for my daughter and my husband was surprised that it did not take me too long to do it! Thank You again!!!

  20. baby/children’s accessories « this mom sews Says:

    […] Hooded Towel (skip to my lou) […]

  21. Liz Says:

    I made three of these this weekend. Your directions were clear and easy to follow! Thanks for the super tutorial.

  22. stitchesbysara Says:

    I just finished making this…Wow! What a great and EASY tutorial. Thanks so much! I’ll definitely add this to my list of quick gifts.

  23. Deanna Says:

    I have twin nieces on the way! I’m adding this to my growing list of projects!

  24. Shelly G. Says:

    I love the hood… I need to make some of these as presents for the holidays… Thank you for the tutorial…

  25. Barry Says:

    Dear Owner,
    I am Rev.Barry white and i am sending this Email in regards to Order some (Towels ) I will like you to reply me back with the types and size you have.
    Also if I may know what types of credit card do you accept as form of payment and what is the % surcharges on each credit card? I will be very glad to hear from you soon with the price ranges of the Towels you have in stock. Thank you …Awaiting to hear from you soon..

    Best Regards.
    Rev.Barry

  26. Roselia Froeschle Says:

    Cotton or Synthetic, both are good options for bath towels as long as they are nice and clean. `

    <a href="Latest blog post straight from our own blog site
    http://www.caramoantravel.com/

  27. Terence Says:

    Thanks for any other informative website. The place else may
    I get that type of info written in such a perfect manner?

    I have a venture that I’m just now operating on, and I’ve been at the look out for such information.

  28. cs go skins explained Says:

    thank so considerably for your internet site it assists a whole lot.|

Leave a comment